Dragonfly vs Damselfly

Standard

Dragonfly vs Damselfly

For those of you who are wondering, why “Damselfly Adventures”.

Here is why. I love dragonflies, and damselflies. Wait a minute, come again? Dragonflies and damselflies? Is there a difference or have you lost your mind? Yes, to both. There is a difference. I have always been fascinated by these zippy, elegant insects. One would always perch on my antenna of my car in my youth and it would bring a smile to my face and they still manage to bring a smile to my face. Now, back to the differences. These particular species can be identified very easily by their wings at rest. Dragonflies forewings and hindwings stay open at rest whereas Damselflies forewings and hindwings close together at rest. Dragonflies have thick bodies and are strong fliers yet the Damselflies have thin bodies and are weak fliers. The Dragonfly in the photo (taken by yours truly) above is a male Roseate Skimmer aka Dragonfly. These can be found in the southern regions of the United States and they take flight in Spring- Fall. I hope you can take time to smell the roses, or better yet… pond water? Because that is where you will find these beautiful insects in abundance.

May your Friday be full of delight and warm cozy weather. Because my feet feel like they have been in the freezer. I need warm thoughts. Good night!

About Mel in the Atl

A person who crossed the finish line, entering the age of thirty. Blessed with a wonderful savior, Jesus. a brilliant husband & two amazing daughters under the age of three. Life is an adventure and a learning curve as each day presents new adventures and lessons to be learned. This is about my trials, lessons, art and recipes. Why not, we always need food. Or at least that is what my stomach tells me. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

