Awakening

Standard

Atlanta has been blessed with some wonderful sunlight from our orange sphere in our galaxy. We have sprung forward, and crawling to the official first day of Spring. Cherry trees, Forsythia, Crocus, Tulips and just about every other type of Spring flower has been teased these past few weeks with our warm weather then cooler weather. But now that it seems that warm is here, again. I thought I would share some photos of the garden and plants that are awakening.

Cherry Tree in bloomBradford Pear tree in bloomTulip Magnolia tree in bloomForsythia in bloomRed Twig Dogwood in bloomSucculentsGoldmound Spirea bloomingWisteria prepping its buds

From left to right: Cherry Tree, Bradford Pear, Tulip magnolia, Forsythia, Red Twig Dogwood, Hens and Chicks, Gold Mound Spirea and Wisteria (tree),

My yard is bursting with personality and begging for more. And so, I planted away this weekend. I went to our local hardware store and they had put several plants of interest on clearance… so of course, I had to buy them all! I purchased three Camellia shrubs. One is white with a burst of pink, deep red, and deep pink. These are a winter blooming shrub that really will help the landscape cheer up among all the Spring time blooming plants. I then purchased a Pinata Climbing Rose as well as a Queen Elizabeth Climbing Rose. My hope is that I will be planting my squash, pumpkins and carrots as soon as my husband and I find time and funds to build raised beds.

I hope you all have enjoyed your weather as much as I have. And if you are not quite there, I hope you find a warm spot on the floor next to your vent and imagine you are feeling a warm breeze from the south with love.

Toodles, thank you for visiting!

MAC

About Mel in the Atl

A person who crossed the finish line, entering the age of thirty. Blessed with a wonderful savior, Jesus. a brilliant husband & two amazing daughters under the age of three. Life is an adventure and a learning curve as each day presents new adventures and lessons to be learned. This is about my trials, lessons, art and recipes. Why not, we always need food. Or at least that is what my stomach tells me. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

