Meeting and Marrying Part I

Standard

If I told you that I knew the moment I met Brett that I would marry him. I would be lying to myself and to you my fellow readers. Geez that was a lot of I’s. Grammar Guru’s, chill out! Anyway. Back to point of this posting.

I will clarify, about two months into our relationship I knew he and I would lead to marriage, eventually. But only if it was Gods will for us. And it was. But I really need to back up for this story to tickle a funny bone in you somewhere.

I worked for a grocery store very popular in the south and continued from high school to collage. It paid the bills and it really fed a need for my temperament. Temperament you ask? Okay. I will get to that later. But I really did just about everything and anything for this company. I really put all I had into it. That is how I was raised and who I was.

That being said. I need to fill you in on a funny part of my walk with employment. Trust me. This will lead to how I met and married. I originally posted for a position for Target. Which was in my mind, an excellent choice. They called me and scheduled an interview. I came to the appointment and remembered from the application the “psychological profile” portion I had filled out couple weeks prior to the interview. Questions like, “Are you a thrill-seeker?”, “If you had a day off, would you go sky diving?”. I was like, NO way. But in the interview, the lady asked me, “What would you like to do in your free time?” I went stiff and said, Skydiving! This is a moment that reminds me from Charlie Brown Christmas and Sally goes, Hockey stick when she should have said Hark! What happened to my brain. From there I answered everything opposite. Needless to say, I did NOT get the job. I am happy about this by the way- not getting the job. I love Target. Don’t get me wrong. You’ll know why shortly.

So, I humbly get into the car with my mom and tell her everything I said and we are both baffled to my responses. My mother knows I am scared of heights. I know I am scared of heights and I have trust issues. Do you honestly think I would have trusted some dude wrapping my ankles to bungee jump or strapping myself to some dude to jump 13,000 feet from the air. I don’t think so! Alright. More temperament filled in. Next movement please.

I get home from school a few days later and get a call from the grocery store where I had also applied and did a high-five kind of interview. SO. I got the job. And worked at that location for roughly two years. Boy did I learn a lot about people in that short period time. But let us move on, shall we. Please? Okay. Good.

I transferred to Atlanta from this other location and found myself in a freshly unearthed grocery store and starting collage. It was Fall 2001. I was nervous, excited and ready for a change of pace and scenery. It really was refreshing. Cow manure and all. Soon there were newer faces and the older faces faded from the store. But one face stuck in my mind. It was Brett. A new bagger. He was intriguing. Annoying and adorable. He was 16 and I was 19. Roughly. I set the relationship thought aside and continued with my education in Graphic Design and majoring in Visual Communication. I dated a few people and made friends with other great characters. But the dating scene flopped. God was also working on my heart that needed a lot of maintenance.

In Fall 2003 I decided it was time to hang out with this intriguing, annoying fellow who threw pen caps at me and who decided my favorite sweater, jean jacket combo needed a submersion in water and then a trip to the frozen foods freezer in the overflow room. Poor jacket. It really was folded beautifully. Think Gap store.

So, we set up a hike to a mountain with our friends for January 11, 2003 to Red Top Mountain in Cartersville, GA. This is where all of our friends would cancel last minute on us and leave us with 15 sandwiches and tons of condiments. But that is okay. That was their master plan. Brett and I hiked the mountain and about five miles in. We rested and finally came clean and we both admitted we had interest in one another. We decided to head back to the car and awkwardly slid our hands into place. And just smiling at each other and just enjoying the quietness of the mountain. It was peaceful and you could just tell the birds were happy for us!

Our journey would lead us down some interesting trials and lessons. But we don’t have to get into everything here. Yet. What was so special, was the amount we had in common. Yet we had so many differences. We shared tears and shared dreams in parking lots of another grocery store parking lot. That is where we could get a moments peace and feel we had privacy. Until a tap on our window one night from a police officer asking us to move on. He made sure to shine is flashlight on parts that would make you blush. No officer. We were having a devotion. You know, a bible study. He didn’t believe us. So, we left. It really was a great discussion too.  We are kindred spirits. Honestly, God guided my footings. Why else would I have been a completely different person at Target. I would have had a different path. I thought that was the end of the world for me. I was so hard on myself and felt like a failure… but who would have guessed I would have been led to a certain someone so particular in such an obscure town I had been in briefly where there were just cattle and horses and no buildings to buy goods other than tobacco and fuel.

Eventually we would return to Red Top after other hikes and memories built to other neat places nearby. I was offered a ring to marry on January 11, 2006 our spot at Red Top. The proposal and other detail will come in another post. Hense the Part I indicated. I want to preserve my fingers for other duties of my day also, there is much to tell in that post that I don’t think I could fit into one without missing something amusing.

Okay, you can laugh now. I totally understand. We all go through dramatic hardships. That is what gives us character.

Good night and hope you found enjoyment. I did. Nothing like going down memory lane.

mac

About Mel in the Atl

A person who crossed the finish line, entering the age of thirty. Blessed with a wonderful savior, Jesus. a brilliant husband & two amazing daughters under the age of three. Life is an adventure and a learning curve as each day presents new adventures and lessons to be learned. This is about my trials, lessons, art and recipes. Why not, we always need food. Or at least that is what my stomach tells me. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

