Pre-eclampsia stinks. Outcome, wonderful.

Standard

First of all, I would like start out by stating I am a very blessed and overjoyed mother of now two daughters. I am joyfully listening to the gentle thumps of my daughter dancing to a Kindermusik album. Another sound that just melts me is the coos of my four week old daughter. She came four weeks early but is very healthy. So grateful for that! A huge thank you to my Lord! Here are some pictures of my loves.

The reason she came early was due to me being induced after having three needs for going to the hospital and being admitted each time, but eventually released two of the three times. To say the least, I ended up pre-eclamptic again after having this condition in my first pregnancy in 2009. Here is a helpful link to familiarize yourself with the condition.

http://www.preeclampsia.org/

My hope is more will be learned about this condition. It has been known about for over 100 years, but not understood entirely.

The low down:

I visited the hospital at 33 weeks not to count the dots on the ceiling or evaluate their curtains, but due to contractions every 2 minutes apart and lasting 3 minutes long, so I got three shots of terbutaline to stop the pre-term labor, stayed two days & received two corticosteroid shots, which is a steroid to mature lungs. I was sent home on moderate bed rest. A week later at 34 weeks, I was admitted for elevated protein in urine (which is a sign of pre-eclampsia), left after two days and got a lecture about staying but convinced them to let me leave on stricter bed rest. Obviously my body was trying to get delivery to a move on. Then, for the third time at 35 weeks, I was admited again with blood pressures on a roller coaster ride, elevated protein levels, again and a series of emotions to join the club. I was calm, but knew something was wrong, espeacially when they told me I gained 9lbs in 6 days (sign of Pre-e) and only going to get worse and had to make a decision to be induced early. My doctor was blunt and told me, “You are going to go eclamptic, it is only a matter of time now.” Side note: If you go eclamptic, the mother and child typically do not survive the stroke and/or seizure. I finally gave it to God to guide me, my husband and doctors. We felt okay to let her come early- I knew it was time. I felt peace come over me. On the evening of O’ Hollows eve, October 31, I was administered Cervidil, which is a labor inducer. The morning of All Saints day, I was started Pitocin to get my contractions regular and after laboring a long time w/o meds, I caved due to blood pressure issues and exhaustion. If you have not had Pitocin, it is a synthetic hormone, similar to your own natural hormone, that magnifies your contractions. The nurses were battling it out with the pitocin to keep my daughter from stressing and my blood pressure from spiking and so it was best to get the Epidural. It helps lower your blood pressure and obviously numbs your nerves. Dr. Heinz, wherever you are- you are a Anesthesiologist Ninja! Best epidural given ever! I had a not so pleasant experience last time.

The delivery:

So, I wasn’t happy with the nurses one bit! The rotation of nurses continued as I went through my laboring process, and some were better than others. But I landed a real winner. I was feeling pressure and knew my daughter was in the birth canal (Though you have an Epidural, you still feel pressure so you will be able to push) and I wanted to push!  I told two nurses at two different times, I felt extreme pressure and needed to see my doctor. My irritation was the fact my dilation was not checked in hours within a few, I was at 9! My doctor finally came after just delivering and she was surprised to see me at 9, oops- 10! What!?!?! So, I was told to hold it as they prepped the room for the baby. Yes… they told me to wait. What!!!! ANYway. In one contraction and three pushes later, I was looking at my second daughter. My emotions were flowing, along with tears. The joy that overcame me was nothing compared to the emotions earlier. I am so grateful to be alive and see my family grow.  

The fears:

I know I should not be fearful when I have a savior who cares for me, but I am sinful & sin get in the way of trust often. I was terrified at a few points when there were medicines administered to me that I knew were intense.

Medicine Fear #1

Beta-mimetics- terbutaline
Possible side effects for you include:

  • Fast heartbeat- Check
  • Fluid in the lungs
  • Poor blood flow
  • Low blood pressure
  • High levels of sugar in the blood
  • Highlevels of insulin (a kind of protein) in the blood
  • Low amounts of potassium in the blood
  • Less amounts of urine
  • Changes in the function of the thyroid gland
  • Shaking
  • Nervousness
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Fever
  • Hallucinations

Possible side effects for your baby include:

  • Fast heartbeat
  • High levels of insulin in the blood
  • Low or high levels of sugar in the blood
  • Enlarged heart
  • Poor blood flow
  • Low levels of calcium in the blood
  • Jaundice
  • Low blood pressure
  • Bleeding within the brain or heart

Medicine fear #2

Magnesium sulfate
Possible side effects for you include:

  • Redness of the skin
  • Tiredness and drowsiness
  • Headache
  • Muscle weakness
  • Double vision
  • Dry mouth
  • Fluid in the lungs
  • Heart attack

Possible side effects for your baby include:

  • Tiredness and drowsiness
  • Decreased muscle tone
  • Slowed breathing
  • Loss of minerals

Overall, God is in control. He knows my story and how it will end. I am overwhelmed with gratitude to Him for blessing me with this life. Having Pre-E has taught me many things, and to be specific, faithful.

Baby Heidi born 11/1/11 @ 5:30 PM 22″long and 7lbs 3 oz

One of my favorite passages:

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer”. Romans 12:12

More than likely, I will not have anymore children, unless God decides a different path for us. But we both feel we are content. I am comfortable with what I have. Originally, I wanted 6. Then down to 4. Now to 2. Oh the irony.

I hope you enjoyed this reading and that it provided insight and educated you.

mac

About Mel in the Atl

A person who crossed the finish line, entering the age of thirty. Blessed with a wonderful savior, Jesus. a brilliant husband & two amazing daughters under the age of three. Life is an adventure and a learning curve as each day presents new adventures and lessons to be learned. This is about my trials, lessons, art and recipes. Why not, we always need food. Or at least that is what my stomach tells me. Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

