Adjusting to Two

Standard

It really as been a whirlwind since having my second child in early November. With Thanksgiving, birthdays, Christmas & New Years, I am ready for a calm 2012 for the most part. I know that calm is a relative term when you are raising a toddler and newborn. These girls are such a blessing to our family. You know how you feel complete? Fulfilled? That is me. I really feel this is what the Lord has planned for me and to feel content. Children are a blessing from Him and I know that things can change.

We brought in the New Year with illness, sadly. With all the hectic rush of gatherings with family members, it was bound to happen. It has be an overwhelming three weeks with almost starting sleep training with our newborn, now that she is sick we are behind. We feel she will do great though. She seems to have sleep and feeding down pat. Tummy time is always fun for us, especially for big sister come sit down and join in. My oldest loves to interact with little sister which is a joy to see.

In public, it seems people are looking for animosity in children when you introduce a new sibling. But I am a firm believer in if you prepare your little ones with love and reassurance about the new arrival and explain to them from day one, you will have great success. Personality can alter that sometimes, but if you feed your little ones negativity, you are signing your little one up for failure to accept change. I am speaking based on experience of being a third born.

My girls get along swimmingly and see a strong relationship developing each day. We have moments where we try to balance time for each child but sometimes, time is against us. I get hardhearted when I hear family members or strangers bring up favoritism or send favoritism signals without knowing it. It is a dangerous, delicate in the little ones brains to suggest to them these fears of not being loved as much as the other or compared to the other. Bottom line, don’t even bring up the word jealous and comparisons. Just love. Send a good vibe in the home.

It has been a balancing act for me as of late due to illness and getting behind on household chores. With my first, everything was smooth sailing, things were figured out and fluid. I know it is still early, and I will get the kids synced along with other responsibilities. Yesterday, I was able to paint my toe nails. Today, a nice long shower and shave. Each day varies in the length I have time to do the things I love. My girls are worth my full attention and would not put my house above my girls. They are only young once. I cherished my one-on-one time with my first, but I seem to be clinging to my last very tightly. I want to build strong bonds and it seems I have done so. The smiles and giggles that come out of my newest addition bring back awesome memories of my first. Genuine, sweet chuckles. Many will say it is gas, but I know it is genuine love smiles and giggles. A recent study completed by scientist were in favor of the idea of a newborn genuinely smiling. I can believe it, ultrasound scans show smiles all the time.

So, maybe by my next post my girls will all feel their finest and daddy and I will be ourselves as well. I look forward to this weekend to get out briefly by myself and then some awesome family togetherness. What to do in my own time always ends up being errands. But this time, I think I am going to stay focused on just fun walking around and just rejuvenate. I took my oldest out last weekend and left the little one with daddy. My oldest absolutely loved our one-on-one time so much, her attitude seemed reset. She was having some cabin fever I feel last week. We try to make one-one-one time with each of our girls once a week. Hubby took the oldest out a couple weeks back to Chick-Fil-A and he was amazed at how well behaved she was. How mature compared to the other kids who were older than her. He felt we were doing a great job as parents and he then felt refreshed. We really have fantastic girls. I pray they always walk in the way of the Lord. God willing, they have a desire for you always.

As a parent, it is rewarding to hear your two year old reciting poems almost word for word and only two years old. A poem my oldest loves:

God spoke to the night

Let there be light

And all the world grew sunny & bright

I pray you all have a safe, fun, blessed weekend. Thank you for your time. May you find encouragement in my posts.

 

About Mel in the Atl

A person who crossed the finish line, entering the age of thirty. Blessed with a wonderful savior, Jesus. a brilliant husband & two amazing daughters under the age of three. Life is an adventure and a learning curve as each day presents new adventures and lessons to be learned. This is about my trials, lessons, art and recipes. Why not, we always need food. Or at least that is what my stomach tells me. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

