Knitting + Toddler = Interesting (to say the least)

Standard

Knitting in general is very relaxing, especially if you found an easy pattern to do hypnotizing stitches. When you venture to the complicated  patterns and need to keep track of detailed work, it then is another story (if you are not used to it). But when you introduce a toddler to the world of knitting, it is very chaotic. Especially when they are easily frustrated teenagers inside three year old bodies.

My oldest is three and she came to me several weeks ago and sweetly said to me, “I’m a knit too.” I just smiled and thought she was too cute and continued knitting my seed stitch scarf project. I mentioned in my prior post how toddler-like of me when learning to knit I had to deal with my “behavior” and have an attitude adjustment especially if I was to ever learn to knit. I felt like I related to the book I mention below all too well.

So, I brought my daughter to a local knit shop the other day that is too cute to describe in detail. But that it is a place I can just get lost in. I would be the one they’d find curled up like a cat in a corner on all their delicious yarn. Okay, maybe not that odd of behavior but you get the idea- it’s cozy and cute. We walk in and start exploring every inch and I hear the owner talking with a customer that they received a new book by Alana Dakos from nevernotknitting.com. I have several of her patterns and saw on her blog she was working on a children’s book. I meant to pre-order but forgot about it completely. So I was elated to hear she had the Deluxe Edition that came with stickers, Annie the paper doll, a puzzle and of course the book. My daughter saw the book set as well and begged for the book. She continues to express she’d like to knit. So, of course I purchase the book as a special birthday gift for her since her birthday was the next day. It seemed like the right thing to do. Right?!?

So the next day comes and we open the set together and my sweet husband captures her delight.

Oldest daughter opening her present

Book: Annie and the Swiss Cheese Scarf

As you can see, I was full of delight as well. She was so happy and asked for yarn and needles. I went straight to showing her the steps and though she is still too small to hold the needles just right, at least she is getting the exposure she needs and wants. This will hopefully aid her in fine motor skills and concentration. I will try and capture her adventures in knitting. There is something so special to see a little one so excited about something that they can work towards an end product and make for themselves.

Speaking of which, Alana Dakos provides a pattern for free of the swiss cheese scarf. It can be found on Ravelry under Swiss Cheese Scarf.

Image/blog: http://nevernotknitting.blogspot.com/2012/10/annies-swiss-cheese-scarf.html

I hope you have enjoyed my post. Have a great day and hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. We have been bountifully blessed beyond words.

Tata,

Mel

About Mel in the Atl

A person who crossed the finish line, entering the age of thirty. Blessed with a wonderful savior, Jesus. a brilliant husband & two amazing daughters under the age of three. Life is an adventure and a learning curve as each day presents new adventures and lessons to be learned. This is about my trials, lessons, art and recipes. Why not, we always need food. Or at least that is what my stomach tells me. Enjoy!

Leave a comment